Adventures in Cooking – Chicken & Basil Fettuccine

Something about myself I discovered in my attempts at adulthood, is that I enjoy cooking! While I might not always be successful in my cooking endeavors, it’s certainly helped my monthly food budget. Gone are the days of Taco Bell at 3 in the morning, and farewell to the days of endless microwave ramen noodles.

Now my days are about searching the web and Pinterest boards alike for original recipes. Unfortunately, with a busy work schedule and maintaining social outings sometimes I don’t always have time to run to the grocery store on weekly basis, or even bi-weekly.

I’m sure many of you have heard of Blue Apron. I’ve seen the commercials myself plenty of times. It’s a system that delivers new recipes and all the ingredients you need right to your door every week! My boyfriend and I first tried it as a free trial when our roommate sent us the promo. The cool thing about it is you can skip as many weeks as you want and cancel anytime you want. We’ve been using it for  couple weeks and so far we’ve been loving the recipes. Tonight, I put together the Chicken & Fresh Basil Fettuccine.

Most recipes usually have the prep time of around 10 minutes. For me… it almost NEVER takes just 10 minutes. My chopping skills still have a lot of room for improvement. That being said the prep work was pretty simple. To wash and cut two roma tomatoes, red onion, three cloves of garlic, and chopped parsley.

IMG_7960

Then it was time to cook the ground chicken. Once that was done, I mixed in tomato paste, garlic, and onion. Basically, to create the sauce consistency I had to add the tomatoes and a a little bit of water, with some red pepper flakes to give it a little bit of kick. It was looking great!

IMG_7962

While at the same time, I was boiling the basil flavored pasta. Once the pasta was done and sauce had reach the perfect consistency, I put it all together. Turned out it was freaking delicious! So I highly recommend you try Blue Apron! If you sign up for their emails, I believe they are offering a special deal for this Labor Day Weekend.

IMG_7965

The dish was simple, but delicious. One of the things I also love is that the majority of the recipes seem to be fairly healthy. Plus, there’s hardly any waste as they only send you the precise amount of ingredients you’ll need. It’s definitely something I recommend checking and seeing if it works for you. I’ve included the link to Blue Aprons website here! Stay tuned for more adventures, big and small.

2 thoughts on “Adventures in Cooking – Chicken & Basil Fettuccine

Leave a Reply

